clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Hall Of Fame: Three Former Sun Devils Nominated

The Arizona State Sun Devil football program could be very well represented on the ballot for induction in the College Football Hall of Fame this year as two players and a former coach have been nominated for to the National Football Foundation's 2012 Football Bowl Subdivision Ballot.

Linebacker legend Bob Breunig, defensive end Al Harris, and former coach Darryl Rogers have all been named as nominees for the ballot this year. This particular ballot is voted upon by members of the NFF and current Hall of Famers across the country, and each have a pretty decent shot at making the cut.

Breunig played in Tempe from 1972-74, helping the Sun Devils win a WAC title in 1972 and consecutive Fiesta Bowl victories in 1972 and 1973. A 1974 First Team All-America selection, Breunig also made the All-WAC three times, ranks third all-time in career solo tackles (206) and fifth in career tackles (353).

Al Harris played for ASU from 1975-78, was a finalist for both the Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy in 1978. Harris also set the record for sacks with 19 in 1978, and was named a First Team All-American that year as well.

As for Darryl Rogers, he coached at Arizona State from 1980-84. He eventually went on to become the Big Ten Coach of the Year in 1977 and National Coach of the Year by Sporting News in 1978 while head coach at Michigan State.

The FBS Hall of Fame Class will be announced live in New York City on May 15 during a press conference scheduled for noon. Induction will be held on December 4 at the 55th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

For more on the Sun Devils, head over to House of Sparky.