clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Participants, start time, TV schedule and more

Full schedule for the 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest.

Mike Ehrmann

The 2013 NBA Slam Dunk Contest is set for Saturday at the Toyota Center in Houston, and there's a new wrinkle this time around. There will be six players going for the title, with three from each of the two conferences vying for supremacy.

Catch up on all of SB Nation's 2013 NBA All-Star Game coverage

On the Eastern Conference, we have Gerald Green of the Indiana Pacers, James White of the New York Knicks and rookie Terrence Ross of the Toronto Raptors. Green was the 2007 Slam Dunk champion, sealing his victory with a dunk that included blowing out a candle atop a cupcake.

As usual, the Slam Dunk contest is generally more about the creativity and the props used in the dunks than anything else.

For the Western Conference, Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz, Eric Bledsoe of the Los Angeles Clippers and Kenneth Faried of the Denver Nuggets make up the field of players. Evans was the 2012 champion, so he'll be defending his crown. He won on a dunk that entailed catching two balls mid-flight and jumping over teammate Gordon Hayward.

Former stars will judge the initial rounds, and a fan vote will decide the winner in the final round.

Coverage on TNT begins at 8:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, but the Slam Dunk contest is the fourth event of the night, following the Shooting Stars Challenge, the Skills Challenge, and the Three-Point Contest.