clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Bristol Results 2012: Denny Hamlin Takes Checkered Flag

On Saturday night, the Bristol Motor Speedway played host to the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for the second time in 2012. Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt, Jr. and Jimmie Johnson all managed to clinch berths in the Chase for the Sprint Cup, but the evening belonged to Denny Hamlin, as he captured the checkered flag on the new surface at the fastest half-mile.

Hamlin just edged out Johnson to pick up his third win of the season and remain firmly above the cutoff, which is now just two races away. There are still several drivers trying to secure their spots as things get down to crunch time.

Here are the full results from Saturday night's race at Bristol:

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Jeff Gordon
  4. Brian Vickers
  5. Marcos Ambrose
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Clint Bowyer
  8. Joey Logano
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Paul Menard
  11. Martin Truex Jr.
  12. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  13. Juan Pablo Montoya
  14. Bobby Labonte
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Regan Smith
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Travis Kvapil
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. David Gilliland
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Carl Edwards
  23. Michael McDowell
  24. Landon Cassill
  25. Matt Kenseth
  26. Dave Blaney
  27. Tony Stewart
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Brad Keselowski
  31. Jason Leffler
  32. David Ragan
  33. Jeff Burton
  34. Sam Hornish Jr.
  35. Aric Almirola
  36. Ryan Newman
  37. David Stremme
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Stephen Leicht
  41. Scott Riggs
  42. Ken Schrader
  43. Mike Bliss

For more on the chase for the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on  YouTube