clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Watkins Glen Results 2012: Marcos Ambrose Wins After Wild Finish

The 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series rolled into Watkins Glen on Sunday for the Finger Lakes 355. The unique track caused problems for many drivers but it also led to a terribly thrilling conclusion.

The final lap of the race has to be seen to be believed. Kyle Busch was well in the lead during the white flag final lap, but spun out on a supposedly oil-slicked track, allowing Bred Keselowski and Marcos Ambrose to duke it out along the remainder of the serpentine track in a raucous dogfight. Ambrose finally came out in front and roared across the finish line to take the checkered flag. It was just Ambrose's second career Sprint Cup Series win -- both at Watkins Glen.

You can see the wild finish for yourself in the video below:

Here are the full results from Sunday's Finger Lakes 355 at Watkins Glen:

  1. Marcos Ambrose
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Clint Bowyer
  5. Sam Hornish Jr.
  6. Greg Biffle
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Matt Kenseth
  9. Regan Smith
  10. Martin Truex Jr.
  11. Ryan Newman
  12. Paul Menard
  13. Kasey Kahne
  14. Carl Edwards
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Casey Mears
  17. Scott Speed
  18. Aric Almirola
  19. Tony Stewart
  20. David Gilliland
  21. Jeff Gordon
  22. David Ragan
  23. Landon Cassill
  24. Travis Kvapil
  25. Boris Said
  26. Stephen Leicht
  27. Bobby Labonte
  28. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  29. Joe Nemechek
  30. Jeff Burton
  31. Kurt Busch
  32. Joey Logano
  33. Juan Pablo Montoya
  34. Denny Hamlin
  35. Jason Leffler
  36. Dave Blaney
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Jamie McMurray
  40. JJ Yeley
  41. Chris Cook
  42. Patrick Long
  43. Brian Vickers

For more on the chase for the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on  YouTube