clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Open Championship 2012: Preview & Schedule

Arizona will have plenty to root for as this year's Open Championship gets underway with seven golfers with Arizona ties participating.

Phil Mickelson and Scott Pinckney, both alums of Arizona State, will tee off at 7:43 am and 4:42 am PDT, respectively. University of Arizona alum Jim Furyk will tee off at 8:16 am.

Scottsdale residents Martin Kaymer (2:53 am PDT), Martin Laird (3:15 am PDT) and Tom Lehman (5:04 am PDT) will be participating as well.

Darren Clarke is the defending champion and will look to defend that crown when he tees off at 2:09 am PDT with Ernie Els and Zach Johnson.

Tiger Woods will be attempting to add to his title collection at an event he hasn't won since winning back-to-back titles in 2005 and 2006. He tees off at 2:42 am PDT with Justin Rose and Sergio Garcia.

The Draw began on Sunday with the first round of practice tee times and will end on Sunday, July 22 with the crowning of a new Open champion.

More coverage of The Open can be found on their website. Follow more coverage of the British Open on the SB Nation storystream.