clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR All-Star Race 2012 Results: Jimmie Johnson Wins $1 Million Race For 3rd Time

On Saturday, NASCAR held their annual All-Star Race in Charlotte. The race has no bearing on the 2012 Sprint Cup Series standings, as no points were awarded in the event. There was, however, a winner's purse of $1 million for the lucky driver who finished in first place.

The race itself was a new-format 90-lap race divided into four 20-lap segments and a final 10-lap, winner-take-all sprint. Some of the drivers -- like overall points leader Greg Biffle -- didn't seem very interested in exerting themselves in a try for the check, but plenty others put forth the effort to win.

In the end, Jimmie Johnson pulled ahead in the late laps and won easily. It was Johnson's third win in the All-Star Race. The Sprint Cup Series resumes next week.

Here are the full All-Star Race results:

  1. Jimmie Johnson
  2. Brad Keselowski
  3. Matt Kenseth
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Ryan Newman
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Jeff Gordon
  14. Clint Bowyer
  15. Trevor Bayne
  16. Paul Menard
  17. Tony Stewart
  18. David Ragan
  19. Bobby Labonte
  20. Denny Hamlin
  21. Mark Martin
  22. Greg Biffle
  23. Carl Edwards

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on  YouTube