clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC On FOX 3 Fight Card: Nate Diaz Battles Jim Miller In Lightweight Eliminator

The UFC returns to free television this week as the company hosts its third event on FOX this Saturday night. A lightweight clash between Jim Miller (21-3) and Nate Diaz (15-7) serves as the main event for UFC on FOX 3, which takes place at IZOD Center in East Rutherford, NJ.

Miller is coming off an impressive submission victory over Melvin Guillard at UFC on FX Guillard vs. Miller. Miller earned "Submission of the Night" for his rear-naked choke of Guillard. Miller's three career losses have come against UFC Lightweight Champion Benson Henderson, former champion Frankie Edgar and Gray Maynard.

Diaz is riding a two fight winning streak with wins over Takanori Gomi and Donald Cerrone. Diaz has won "Fight of the Night" five times in his UFC career, and has been awarded "Submission of the Night" three times by UFC brass. UFC President Dana White has stated that the winner of this fight will get a shot at the lightweight championship.

The co-main event features a welterweight battle between Josh Koscheck (19-5) and Johny Hendricks (12-1). Koscheck has won two fights in a row since his lost to Georges St-Pierre at UFC 124. In his last fight, Koscheck defeated Mike Pierce by split decision at UFC 143.

The upstart Hendricks has won three fights in a row including a surprising knockout of Jon Fitch at UFC 141. The victory over Fitch vaulted Hendricks into top contender status and a victory over Koscheck puts him on the fast track to a title shot.

Full UFC on FOX fight card:

Main Card (FOX):

Lightweight: Jim Miller (21-3) vs. Nate Diaz (15-7)

Welterweight: Josh Koscheck (19-5) vs. Johny Hendricks (12-1)

Middleweight: Alan Belcher (16-5) vs. Rousimar Palhares (23-3)

Heavyweight: Pat Barry (7-4) vs. Lavar Johnson (16-5)

Preliminary Card (FUEL TV):

Lightweight: Tony Ferguson (14-2) vs. Michael Johnson (11-6)

Flyweight: John Dodson (13-5) vs. Tim Elliott (8-2-1)

Welterweight: John Hathaway (15-1) vs. Pascal Krauss (10-0)

Flyweight: Louis Gaudinot (5-2) vs. John Lineker (19-5)

Lightweight: Danny Castillo (13-4) vs. John Cholish (8-1)

Featherweight: Dennis Bermudez (8-3) vs. Pablo Garza (12-2)

Preliminary Card:

Bantamweight: Roland Delorme (7-1) vs. Nick Denis (11-2)

Middleweight: Mike Massenzio (13-6) vs. Karlos Vemola (9-2)

For all the latest AZ sports news, follow us on Twitter @SBNArizona and "Like" us on Facebook.