clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas Speedway 2012 Results: Denny Hamlin Takes Home The Checkered Flag

On Sunday, the eighth race of the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series was held at Kansas Speedway. The drivers who ran the 1.5-mile track combined for the safest race in the history of the Kansas Speedway, as there were only three caution flags during the entire race.

Martin Truex, Jr. led for the most laps, but Denny Hamlin took home the checkered flag for his second win of the year. With the victory, Hamlin moves into fifth place in the Sprint Cup standings, while Truex moves up two spots to sit in second place. The overall leader remains Greg Biffle, who finished in fifth place and holds a 15-point lead over Truex. It was the fifth Top-5 finish of the year for Biffle.

Here are the results from Sunday's NASCAR race at Kansas Speedway:

  1. Denny Hamlin
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. Jimmie Johnson
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Greg Biffle
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Kasey Kahne
  9. Carl Edwards
  10. Kyle Busch
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Juan Pablo Montoya
  13. Tony Stewart
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. Joey Logano
  16. Marcos Ambrose
  17. Kurt Busch
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Sam Hornish Jr.
  20. Ryan Newman
  21. Jeff Gordon
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Regan Smith
  25. Travis Kvapil
  26. Casey Mears
  27. David Gilliland
  28. Reed Sorenson
  29. David Reutimann
  30. David Ragan
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. AJ Allmendinger
  33. Mark Martin
  34. Landon Cassill
  35. Bobby Labonte
  36. Clint Bowyer
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. David Stremme
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Mike Bliss
  43. Scott Riggs

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube