clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Kansas Speedway 2012: A.J. Allmendinger Holds Pole Position

On Sunday, the STP 400 at Kansas Speedway will be the latest race in the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Points leader Greg Biffle will attempt to hold onto his place as the overall points leader, as he tries to hold off Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

Biffle, however, will have to deal with less-than-ideal placement in Sunday's starting lineup. He did not fare quite as well as he had hoped, as he will begin the race in 17th place. Luckily, Kenseth is right behind him, in 18th place. A.J. Allmendinger won pole position for the STP 400 -- just the second pole he has won in his racing career.

The green flag will drop on Sunday at 10:16 a.m. ET, so get to your television early if you want to catch this one. The race will be televised on FOX.

Starting lineup for Sunday's NASCAR race at Kansas Speedway:

  1. AJ Allmendinger
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Mark Martin
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  8. Clint Bowyer
  9. Kasey Kahne
  10. Sam Hornish Jr.
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Jeff Burton
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Kurt Busch
  15. Jimmie Johnson
  16. David Reutimann
  17. Greg Biffle
  18. Matt Kenseth
  19. Paul Menard
  20. Jeff Gordon
  21. David Gilliland
  22. Carl Edwards
  23. Tony Stewart
  24. David Stremme
  25. Kyle Busch
  26. Aric Almirola
  27. David Ragan
  28. Marcos Ambrose
  29. Regan Smith
  30. Bobby Labonte
  31. JJ Yeley
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Dave Blaney
  34. Travis Kvapil
  35. Scott Riggs
  36. Jamie McMurray
  37. Michael McDowell
  38. Josh Wise
  39. Juan Pablo Montoya
  40. Casey Mears
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Reed Sorenson
  43. Mike Bliss

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube