clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Martinsville 2012: Full Results From Sunday's Short-Track Race

On Sunday, NASCAR held its sixth race of the 2012 Sprint Cup season at Martinsville Speedway, the shortest track on the circuit. Many drivers seemed completely baffled by the track, which necessitated hard accelerations on the brief straightaways followed by immediate braking on each turn.

The ending of the race was fairly bizarre, as a caution flag came out on Lap 497 of 500, resulting in a green-white-checkered-flag finish. Unfortunately, there was a crash on the restart, spinning out Clint Bowyer, Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson. Ryan Newman was able to shoot through on the successful restart, passing AJ Allmendinger on the white-flag lap to pick up the win, which was the 16th of his career and his first at Martinsville.

Here are the full results of Sunday's race:

  1. Ryan Newman
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Tony Stewart
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Brad Keselowski
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Carl Edwards
  12. Jimmie Johnson
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Jeff Gordon
  15. Marcos Ambrose
  16. Regan Smith
  17. Bobby Labonte
  18. Brian Vickers
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Jamie McMurray
  21. Juan Pablo Montoya
  22. Jeff Burton
  23. Joey Logano
  24. David Ragan
  25. Casey Mears
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Travis Kvapil
  28. David Gilliland
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. David Stremme
  31. Hermie Sadler
  32. Ken Schrader
  33. Kurt Busch
  34. Dave Blaney
  35. David Reutimann
  36. Kyle Busch
  37. JJ Yeley
  38. Kasey Kahne
  39. Joe Nemechek
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Josh Wise
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Reed Sorenson

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube