clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Texas Motor Speedway 2012: Greg Biffle Wins Race To Extend Sprint Cup Lead

In the first Saturday race of the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, the Texas Motor Speedway played host to the Samsung Mobile 500.

The race was largely uneventful, but points leader Greg Biffle managed to win his first race of the season to extend his lead in the chase for the Sprint Cup. Indeed, it was the first checkered flag that Biffle had won since October of 2010. Biffle had previously clung to the top spot on the Sprint Cup leaderboard thanks to top-10 finishes in four of the first six races of the season, including starting off 2012 with three straight third-place finishes.

Biffle took the lead on Lap 304 of 334 and hung on for the win, his second at Texas Motor Speedway. He now holds a 19-point lead over second-place Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt, Jr., who finished in fifth place and 10th place, respectively.

Here are the full results for Saturday's race:

  1. Greg Biffle
  2. Jimmie Johnson
  3. Mark Martin
  4. Jeff Gordon
  5. Matt Kenseth
  6. Martin Truex Jr.
  7. Kasey Kahne
  8. Carl Edwards
  9. Kevin Harvick
  10. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  11. Kyle Busch
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Kurt Busch
  14. Jamie McMurray
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Juan Pablo Montoya
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Paul Menard
  19. Joey Logano
  20. Marcos Ambrose
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Aric Almirola
  23. Regan Smith
  24. Tony Stewart
  25. Casey Mears
  26. David Reutimann
  27. Bobby Labonte
  28. Trevor Bayne
  29. Jeff Burton
  30. Landon Cassill
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Reed Sorenson
  33. JJ Yeley
  34. Tony Raines
  35. David Ragan
  36. Brad Keselowski
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Travis Kvapil
  39. Josh Wise
  40. Mike Bliss
  41. Michael McDowell
  42. Scott Riggs
  43. Scott Speed

For all news and information regarding the 2012 Sprint Cup Series, please visit NASCAR Ranting & Raving or check out SB Nation's dedicated NASCAR hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube