clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indy 500 Results: Dan Wheldon Wins After J.R. Hildebrand Crash In Final Lap

Englishman Dan Wheldon won his second Indy 500 on the final lap of the race. He was trailing J.R. Hildebrand when the rookie crashed on the final turn. Wheldon passed to claim the victory at the 2011 Indy 500.  He previously won in 2005. Graham Rahal, son of famous driver Bobby Rahal, finished third.

It was a devastating finish for Hildebrand who had the race wrapped up before inexplicably putting his car into the wall as you can see in this video of the finish.

Full results from the 2011 Indy 500:

  1. Dan Wheldon
  2. J.R. Hildebrand
  3. Graham Rahal
  4. Tony Kanaan
  5. Oriol Servia
  6. Scott Dixon
  7. Bertrand Baguette
  8. Tomas Scheckter
  9. Marco Andretti
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. Ed Carpenter
  12. Dario Franchitti
  13. Charlie Kimball
  14. Will Power
  15. Vitor Meira
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Helio Castroneves
  18. Buddy Rice
  19. Alex Lloyd
  20. Pippa Mann
  21. Ana Beatriz
  22. John Andretti
  23. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  24. Davey Hamilton
  25. Paul Tracy
  26. Townsend Bell
  27. Ryan Briscoe
  28. Alex Tagliani
  29. James Hinchcliffe
  30. Jay Howard
  31. Simona de Silvestro
  32. E.J. Viso
  33. Takuma Sato