clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona State, Arizona Football To Be Broadcast On ESPN Several Times In 2011

The Pac-12 and ESPN have released a preliminary list of the broadcasts that will take place in 2011. It's a fairly extensive list, and both Arizona and ASU are featured in primetime events early on in this upcoming season.

September 8 (Thurs) Arizona at Oklahoma State, 5:00 pm PT/8:00 pm ET, ESPN
September 9 (Fri) Missouri at Arizona State, 7:30 pm PT/10:30 pm ET, ESPN
September 17 Stanford at Arizona, 7:45 pm PT/10:45 pm ET, ESPN
September 24 Oregon at Arizona, 7:15 pm PT/10:15 pm ET, ESPN or ESPN2
September 24 USC at Arizona State, 7:15 pm PT/10:15 pm ET, ESPN or ESPN2
October 20 (Thurs) UCLA at Arizona, 6:00 pm PT/9:00 pm ET, ESPN
November 25 (Fri) California at Arizona State, 7:15 pm PT/10:15 pm ET, ESPN

The common theme on the list? Outside of the Wildcats' rematch against the Cowboys on 9/8, all of the games are home games for the Arizona-based universities.

The opposition is also very stiff, especially for the Wildcats, who will likely play three nationally ranked teams on ESPN during the month of September. Should Arizona escape this gauntlet with a few wins, expect their Territorial Cup game against ASU to be picked up in November.

The final thing worthy of note is the abundance of games on nights other than Saturday. Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott had to make some concessions in order to get his conference such a lucrative contract, and weeknight games are a big part of that.

For more on the Pac-12 schedule, check out House Of Sparky and AZ Desert Swarm, SB Nation's ASU and Arizona blogs.