clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Which Phoenix Sun Deserves To Win The 2011 Dan Majerle Hustle Award?

Quick: what do Shawn Marion and Lou Amundson have in common, besides having played for the Phoenix Suns at one point or another? Probably lots of things, actually. The correct answer, though, is this: they have both won the Dan Majerle Hustle Award (Marion in 2005 and Lou Amundson in 2009).

The annual award is up for grabs again in its ninth year. The award is given to the Suns player each season who most personifies the qualities of Suns Ring of Honor member Dan Majerle, who played eight seasons with the Suns (from 1988-1995 and 2001-2002) and who currently serves as an assistant coach for the Suns.

The voting is determined by five different groups (all weighted equally): Suns fans, Suns players, Suns coaches, Suns employees and Majerle himself. The winner gets to give a $9,000 cash award to the charity of his choice.

Here’s a look at the all of the previous award winners since its inception in 2003:

  • Jared Dudley (2010)
  • Lou Amundson (2009)
  • Grant Hill (2008)
  • Leandro Barbosa (2007)
  • Raja Bell (2006)
  • Shawn Marion (2005)
  • Casey Jacobsen (2004)
  • Bo Outlaw (2003)

Looking at that list you’ll notice the recent and very distinct new-player-ends-up-winning-award trend, and you have to think that Marcin Gortat is the top candidate this year. But of course, this team is brimming with new parts: Aaron Brooks, Vince Carter, Josh Childress, Zabian Dowdell, and Hakeem Warrick (among others). On another note, is anyone else puzzled by the fact that Steve Nash isn’t on this list? I am; maybe this will be his year.

Go to anytime between now and Tuesday, April 12th to select your pick. The winner will be announced during pregame of the regular season finale against the San Antonio Spurs on April 13th.