clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC 140: Jon Jones Vs. Lyoto Machida Fight Card

UFC light heavyweight champion Jon Jones defends his belt against Lyoto Machida on December 10th at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada for UFC 140.

Jon Jones
Jon Jones

"Fighter of the Year" isn't enough to make Jon Jones (14-1) rest on his laurels. Despite picking up MMA's most coveted award at last month's World MMA Awards, the UFC light heavyweight champion is slated to defend his title for a second time against former champion Lyoto Machida (17-2) at UFC 140 on Saturday.

The bout will be Jones' fourth of the year and a win would cap what may be the most impressive run in mixed martial arts history. "Bones" kicked off his streak with a "Submission of the Night" victory over rising contender Ryan Bader in February, then entered the spotlight with a thorough destruction of Mauricio Rua a month later. The 24-year-old silenced his remaining doubters with a dominating submission victory over former champion Quinton Jackson at UFC 135.

Also featured on the card, the Nogueira brothers make their return against a pair of former UFC titleholders. Antonio "Minotauro" Rodrigo Nogueira (33-6-1, 1 NC) hopes to reenter into title contention with a win over heavyweight veteran Frank Mir (15-5) in the night's co-main event, and Antonio "Minotouro" Rogerio Nogueira (19-5) attempts to right his sinking ship against light heavyweight legend Tito Ortiz (16-9-1).

Filling out the main card are welterweights Claude Patrick (14-1) vs. Brian Ebersole (48-14-1, 1 NC) and featherweights Mark Hominick (20-9) vs. "The Korean Zombie" Chan Sung Jung (11-3). UFC 140 takes place December 10th at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada.

UFC 140 fight card:

Main card:
Light Heavyweight Championship: Jon Jones vs. Lyoto Machida
Heavyweight: Frank Mir vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira
Light Heavyweight: Tito Ortiz vs. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira
Welterweight: Claude Patrick vs. Brian Ebersole
Featherweight: Mark Hominick vs. Chan Sung Jung

Preliminary card (Ion Television):
Light Heavyweight: Krzysztof Soszynski vs. Igor Pokrajac
Middleweight: Jared Hamman vs. Constantinos Philippou
Lightweight: John Makdessi vs. Dennis Hallman
Bantamweight: Yves Jabouin vs. Walel Watson

Preliminary card (Facebook):
Lightweight: Mark Bocek vs. Nik Lentz
Welterweight: Rich Attonito vs. Jake Hecht
Lightweight: Mitch Clarke vs. John Cholish