clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

UFC 140 Results, Bonuses, And Payouts

Jon Jones capped what many believe to be the best year any mixed martial artist has ever had with another impressive victory over Lyoto Machida at UFC 140. Jones seemed to be baffled by Machida's striking style during the first round as Machida tagged Jones with some shots and won the round in the eyes of many.

In the second round Jones went back to being Jones. He cut Machida early in the second round with an elbow to Machida's forehead, and then preceded to finished Machida with a standing guillotine choke put Machida to sleep. When Jones let go of the choke, Machida crumpled to the ground, limp. 

"Submission of the Night" went to heavyweight Frank Mir. Mir was rocked early by Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira but while on the ground he quickly transitioned into a kimura choke. When Nogueira refused to tap, Mir snapped the arm of Nogueira, ending the fight. X-Rays tweeted out from the UFC revealed a brake in Nogueira's humours (upper-arm bone). 

One of the Nogueira brothers was successful as "Little Nog" defeated Tito Ortiz by knockout in the first round. Nogueira put Ortiz down with a knee to the body. Ortiz covered up on the ground and survived for a while, but was put away with continuos body shots from Nogueira. Ortiz has asked Dana White if he can finish out his contract with the UFC which has one fight left on it. 

"Knockout of the Night" went to Chan Sung Jung (The Korean Zombie). Zung knockout out Mark Hominick in seven seconds, tying the UFC record for quickest knockout. Hominick swung first, but Zung ducked under the shot and delivered a counter right that dropped Hominick and quickly ended his night. "Fight of the Night" was awarded to Jone Jones and Lyoto Machida. Each bonus was reportedly $75,000.

UFC 140 took place at the Air Canada Centre in Toronto, Canada. The reported attendance for the event was 18,303 and the live gate was $3.9 million. Full results listed below. 

Main Card (Pay-Per-View): 

Jon Jones def. Lyoto Machida via technical submission (standing guillotine choke) - Round 1, 4:26

Frank Mir def. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira via submission (kimura) - Round 1, 3:38

Antonio Rogerio Nogueira def. Tito Ortiz via TKO (strikes) - Round 1, 3:15

Brian Ebersole def. Claude Patrick via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)

Chan Sung Jung def. Mark Hominick via TKO (punches) - Round 1, 0:07

Preliminary Card (ION Television):

Igor Pokrajac def. Krzysztof Soszynski via knockout (punches) - Round 1, 0:35

Constantinos Philippou def. Jared Hamman via knockout (punches) - Round 1, 3:11

Dennis Hallman def. John Makdessi via submission (rear-naked choke) - Round 1, 2:58

Yves Jabouin def. Walel Watson via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)

Preliminary Card (Facebook):

Mark Bocek def. Nik Lentz via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Jake Hecht def. Rich Attonito via TKO (strikes) - Round 1, 1:10

John Cholish def. Mitch Clarke via TKO (strikes) - Round 2, 4:36