clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR At Phoenix International Raceway: Kasey Kahne Wins

Kasey Kahne managed to win his first NASCAR event since 2009 on Sunday at Phoenix International Raceway.

Chase Cup points leader Carl Edwards spent most of the race fighting for the lead with Kahne and Tony Stewart, who actually dominated most of the race, leading 160 of the 312 laps. In the end, a quick pit stop late in the race was able to nab Kahne the win. Edwards finished in second place and Stewart took third.

As a result of the finish, Edwards heads into the last race of the season next Sunday clinging to the same slim three-point lead over Stewart that he held when the race began. All other drivers in the Chase for the Sprint Cup have officially been eliminated, including reigning five-time champion Jimmie Johnson, who finished the day in 14th place.

The final standings for Sunday's race:

  1. Kasey Kahne
  2. Carl Edwards
  3. Tony Stewart
  4. Jeff Burton
  5. Ryan Newman
  6. AJ Allmendinger
  7. David Reutimann
  8. Marcos Ambrose
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Clint Bowyer
  11. Joey Logano
  12. Denny Hamlin
  13. Greg Biffle
  14. Jimmie Johnson
  15. Juan Pablo Montoya
  16. Mark Martin
  17. Jamie McMurray
  18. Brad Keselowski
  19. Kevin Harvick
  20. Martin Truex Jr.
  21. Bobby Labonte 
  22. Kurt Busch
  23. Brian Vickers
  24. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 
  25. Cole Whitt
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Dave Blaney 
  28. J.J. Yeley
  29. Landon Cassill
  30. Mike Bliss
  31. David Gilliland
  32. Jeff Gordon
  33. David Ragan
  34. Matt Kenseth
  35. Robby Gordon
  36. Kyle Busch
  37. Geoffrey Bodine
  38. Regan Smith 
  39. Scott Speed 
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Joe Nemechek
  42. Mike Skinner
  43. Travis Kvapil

You can always find full news and coverage at SB Nation NASCAR.