clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NFL Playoff Schedule Continues Saturday Night With Green Bay Packers At Atlanta Falcons

The NFL playoffs continue on Saturday with an AFC and an NFC divisional game each. Each team is hoping to last another week and move closer to the ultimate goal. What is that goal? That would naturally be the Lombardi Trophy after having won the Super Bowl in Dallas. For the majority of the football fans in America, it means that we must follow with the TV schedule on FOX and CBS. Next up in our preview of the NFC and AFC playoff games is the matchup between the Green Bay Packers and the Atlanta Falcons.

Aaron Rodgers and Clay Matthews will lead their streaking Green Bay Packers into Georgia to face Michael Turner, Matt Ryan and his Atlanta Falcons. The two teams faced off earlier in the season with Atlanta coming away with a three-point victory. However, Green Bay has come on strong in the past few weeks, as every game towards the end of the regular season became playoff games in a sense because if they lost, they could not qualify for the playoffs.

Atlanta, though, plays very well at home in the Georgia Dome. Matt Ryan is 20-2 in his career playing at home, but has yet to ever lead his team to a playoff victory. Aaron Rodgers notched his first postseason victory over Philadelphia and was helped greatly by running back James Starks, who rushed for 123 yards in that game.

Both teams are evenly matched on both sides of the ball. Both have very good young quarterbacks. Green Bay has more experience and has momentum but Atlanta has home-field advantage. It should be a tight game from start to finish.

Full NFL Playoff Weekend Schedule:

Saturday:

Ravens vs. Steelers (CBS, 4:30 pm ET/ 2:30 pm MT)

Packers vs. Falcons (Fox, 8pm ET  /6 pm MT)

Sunday:

Bears vs. Seahawks (Fox, 1pm ET/11am MT)

Patriots vs. Jets (CBS, 4:30 pm ET/ 2:30 pm MT)