clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Diamondbacks Try To Extend Win Streak, Haren's Bat And Arm Should Help; 6:40 P.M. AZT

(Sports Network) - The Arizona Diamondbacks try to make it two straight wins tonight when they host the Florida Marlins in game two of a four-game series at Chase Field.

In Thursday's opener, Kelly Johnson went 4-for-5 and drove in three runs to lead Arizona to a 10-4 rout. Gerardo Parra also delivered four hits and scored twice for the Diamondbacks, who snapped a five-game skid.

Rodrigo Lopez (5-7) gave up five hits and four runs - three earned - over seven innings to get the win in front of a franchise-record low 16,664 fans.

Anibal Sanchez (7-6) lost his second consecutive start after yielding nine hits and six runs - five earned - over four-plus innings.

Brett Hayes hit a two-run homer for Florida.

On the mound tonight, Arizona staff ace Dan Haren aims for his first win since June 12. The 29-year-old Californian was 7-4 on the season after a 7-2 defeat of St. Louis, but has since gone 0-2 with a pair of no-decisions in four outings.

He allowed just one run on six hits in seven innings on July 4 against the Los Angeles Dodgers, but the Diamondbacks lost the game, 3-1.

Haren is 1-2 in four career starts against Florida with a 2.86 earned run average in 28 1/3 innings.

For the Marlins, fellow Californian Ricky Nolasco looks to push his personal win streak to four games.

The 27-year-old right-hander has beaten Baltimore, the New York Mets and Atlanta in his last three starts, combining to surrender 18 hits and nine runs in 21 innings.

He's pitched seven innings in each of the three wins, after lasting seven innings just four times in his initial 14 outings in 2010.

Nolasco is 4-1 in five lifetime starts against Arizona with a 3.53 ERA.

He is 5-2 this season in nine road starts.

These two clubs split a quick two-game set in Florida on May 17-18 and Arizona has won seven of the last 11 meetings overall. The Marlins and Diamondbacks split four games at Chase Field last year.