clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona State Plans Salute For Pat Tillman

The Sun Devils and the National Football Foundation (NFF) will honor Tillman, their newest inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame, Nov. 13 when they host Stanford on November 13, 2010.

The ceremony will be conducted on the field where a family member will represent Pat who was tragically killed while serving in Afghanistan. The university will also receive a commemorative plaque for permanent display.

"It will be an honor for Arizona State University to share this on-campus recognition of Pat Tillman with our community and his family and friends." says Lisa Love, Vice President for University Athletics at ASU. "Pat, an American hero, is a significant part of our history and we are thrilled to recognize him and his family once again."

On May 27, the NFF announced that Tillman, an All-American linebacker at ASU from 1994-97, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a member of the 2010 class.

The first-ever Arizona State player to be named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, Tillman led the Sun Devils to the 1996 Pac-10 title and a berth in the Rose Bowl. Named team MVP in 1997, the two-time First Team Academic All-Pac10 selection finished his ASU career with 230 career tackles. He was named Sun Bowl MVP in his senior season and has since been inducted into the Sun Bowl Hall of Fame. Tillman was also named the 1997 Sporting News/Honda Scholar Athlete of the Year.

Sun Devil players previously inducted into the hall of fame include Michael Hayn (2001), John Jefferson (2002), Randall McDaniel (2008), Ron Pritchard (2003) and Danny White (1998). Hall of Fame coaches with stints at ASU include John Cooper (2008), Dan Devine (1985), and Frank Kush (1995). For a complete list of players and coaches in the hall, please visit