MLB Playoffs: Diamondbacks Playoff Roster Includes Jarrod Parker

The Arizona Diamondbacks released their roster for the start of 2011 MLB Playoffs. The 25 players that will be eligible to take the field in the NLDS series against the Milwaukee Brewers includes the expected names like Justin Upton and Ian Kennedy but also a surprise addition with rookie Jarrod Parker.

Parker has a total of five innings pitched in the major leagues but made the roster as a possible long reliever or spot starter over fellow rookie Wade Miley who's started seven games (4-2, 4.50 ERA). Also left off the bullpen roster are lefties Zach Duke and Alberto Castillo.

Manager Kirk Gibson has only two lefties at all and one of them is likely Game 3 starter Joe Saunders. Joe Paterson is the only left-handed reliever available out the pen.

The Brewers only have two regular hitters in the lineup that bat from the left side but they are both dangerous --Prince Fielder and Nyjer Morgan. Gibson is likely counting on his starters going six or seven innings so he can turn the ball over to David Hernandez in the eight and J.J. Putz in the ninth. 

Parker wasn't called up to the team until the middle of September which left some question if he was even eligible but apparently he was allowed to replace only of the eligible players who are on the disabled list (Xavier Nady or Jason Marquis).

The Diamondbacks can reset their playoff roster and put a few more lefties in the bullpen should they advance to the NLCS should the match-ups dictate that.

There were no surprises with the position players that made the roster.

Here's the Diamondbacks playoff roster for the 2011 MLB NLDS:


No. 15      Micah Owings       RHP

No. 29      Brad Ziegler           RHP

No. 30      David Hernandez   RHP

No. 31      Ian Kennedy          RHP

No. 34      Joe Saunders          LHP

No. 39      Bryan Shaw           RHP

No. 40      J.J. Putz                 RHP

No. 41      Daniel Hudson      RHP

No. 47      Joe Paterson          LHP

No. 55      Josh Collmenter     RHP

No. 56      Jarrod Parker         RHP


No. 12      Henry Blanco

No. 26      Miguel Montero


No. 2        Aaron Hill

No. 11      Sean Burroughs

No. 14      Ryan Roberts

No. 16      John McDonald

No. 18      Willie Bloomquist

No. 27      Geoff Blum

No. 37      Lyle Overbay

No. 44      Paul Goldschmidt


No. 4       Collin Cowgill

No. 8       Gerardo Parra

No. 10     Justin Upton

No. 24     Chris Young

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Arizona

You must be a member of SB Nation Arizona to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Arizona. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Arizona

You must be a member of SB Nation Arizona to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Arizona. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.