INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MAY 29: Dan Wheldon of England, driver of the #98 William Rast-Curb/Big Machine Dallara Honda, drinks milk as he celebrates in victory lane after winning the IZOD IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 Mile Race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 29, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)

2011 Indy 500: Dan Wheldon Wins 2nd Indy On Final Lap

Dan Wheldon won after the guy ahead of him inexplicably drove into the wall on the final turn and blew what would have been an easy finish.

  • Live
4 Total Updates since May 24, 2011
  • Important 3
  • Updates 4
  • All Updates 4

Indy 500 Results: Dan Wheldon Wins After J.R. Hildebrand Crash In Final Lap

Englishman Dan Wheldon won his second Indy 500 on the final lap of the race. He was trailing J.R. Hildebrand when the rookie crashed on the final turn. Wheldon passed to claim the victory at the 2011 Indy 500.  He previously won in 2005. Graham Rahal, son of famous driver Bobby Rahal, finished third.

It was a devastating finish for Hildebrand who had the race wrapped up before inexplicably putting his car into the wall as you can see in this video of the finish.

Full results from the 2011 Indy 500:

  1. Dan Wheldon
  2. J.R. Hildebrand
  3. Graham Rahal
  4. Tony Kanaan
  5. Oriol Servia
  6. Scott Dixon
  7. Bertrand Baguette
  8. Tomas Scheckter
  9. Marco Andretti
  10. Danica Patrick
  11. Ed Carpenter
  12. Dario Franchitti
  13. Charlie Kimball
  14. Will Power
  15. Vitor Meira
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Helio Castroneves
  18. Buddy Rice
  19. Alex Lloyd
  20. Pippa Mann
  21. Ana Beatriz
  22. John Andretti
  23. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  24. Davey Hamilton
  25. Paul Tracy
  26. Townsend Bell
  27. Ryan Briscoe
  28. Alex Tagliani
  29. James Hinchcliffe
  30. Jay Howard
  31. Simona de Silvestro
  32. E.J. Viso
  33. Takuma Sato

Indy 500 TV Schedule And Start Time

The Indy 500 is considered one of the most important races in world motor sports. The 2011 race is the 100th anniversary of the famous race at the brickyard. The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is the home of car racing and practically invented the sport. To win here, on this day, would be huge accomplishment for any drive and their sponsor.

SB Nation Indianapolis has all the details:

Start Time: The IMS race track opens at 6 a.m. on Sunday, with six hours of festivities. These festivities are much more tame than what they were in years past, including parades featuring former winners. The Indy 500 is set to get underway at noon following the parade and pace laps.

TV: ABC has the coverage, beginning with the pre-race show at 11:00 a.m. At 12:00 p.m. ET, the 'Greatest Spectacle In Racing' begins on ABC. Thirty-three drivers will take to the track for the 100th anniversary of the Indy 500.

Radio: In addition to the television broadcast, you can also find the Indy 500 on your radio dial and on Sirius and XM radio. On Sirius, coverage can be found on Channel 211. Channel 145 has the race on XM. A full list of the 400-plus radio partners can be found here.

For more on the race be sure to head over to Pop Off Valve for additional IndyCar news, including the three excellent Indy 500 resources: The Indy 500 experienceIndy 500 traditions and the history of the Indy 500 and the Brickyard.


Indy 500: Top Qualifiers, Updated Odds And TV Schedule

The Greatest Spectacle in Racing is scheduled for Sunday, May 29 at 12:00 a.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT. The 100th anniversary of the Indianapolis 500 features 33 drivers battling for one of the top honors in motor sports. ABC will carry the live broadcast.

Alex Tagliani is the poll sitter for the 2011 Indy 500 thanks to a qualifying speed of 227.472. The Las Vegas odds makers are setting the favorites as Dario Franchitti (4/1) and Scott Dixon (4/1). Franchitti qualified ninth overall and Dixon second.

Franchitti won the race in 2010 and Dixon was the 2008 winner. The 2009 winner, Helio Castroneves, qualified 16th and has 9/1 odds to win this year. 

TV Coverage: ABC's coverage starts early at 11:00 a.m. ET / 8:00 a.m. PT with the special "The Indianapolis 500: A Centennial Celebration". The big event follows, as ABC begins their broadcast of the 2011 Indianapolis 500 at 12:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 a.m. PT.

The following is a full list of updated odds for the 2011 Indy 500 via Bodog.

Dario Franchitti #10 4/1
Scott Dixon #9 4/1
Alex Tagliani #77 13/2
Will Power #12 7/1
Helio Castroneves #3 9/1
Dan Wheldon #98 11/1
Oriol Servia #2 12/1
Buddy Rice #44 14/1
Ryan Briscoe #6 15/1
Danica Patrick #7 25/1
Townsend Bell #99 25/1
Marco Andretti #26 28/1
Tony Kanaan #82 28/1
Ed Carpenter #67 40/1
Vitor Meira #14 40/1
Paul Tracy #23 50/1
Tomas Scheckter #07 55/1
Graham Rahal #38 70/1
Takuma Sato #5 75/1
Bertrand Baguette #30 100/1
Bruno Junquiera #41 100/1
John Andretti #43 100/1
JR Hildebrand #4 100/1
Justin Wilson #22 100/1
E.J. Viso #59 125/1
James Hinchcliffe #06 125/1
Simona De Silvestro #78 125/1
Jay Howard #88 150/1
Alex Lloyd #19 200/1
Davey Hamilton #11 200/1
Ana Beatriz #24 250/1
Charlie Kimball #83 250/1
Pippa Mann #36 250/1


INDIANAPOLIS - OCTOBER 12: 33 of the greatest race cars that won the Indianapolis 500 lineup during a photo shoot at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on October 12, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana. Amongst the display are, Ray Harroun (Front Row-R) driving the Marmon "Wasp", 2010 winner Dario Franchitti's (Front Row-C) Target Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara Honda, and A. J. Foyts (Front Row-L) 1961 Offenhauser "roadster". The Indianapolis 500 is preparing for its 100th anniversary that is to take place on May 29, 2011. (Photo by Ron Hoskins/Getty Images)

Be sure to visit Pop Off Valve for SB Nation's in-depth IndyCar coverage.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Arizona

You must be a member of SB Nation Arizona to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Arizona. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Arizona

You must be a member of SB Nation Arizona to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Arizona. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.